top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureijv16b

Nike React Element 55

Updated: May 16, 2019



Today I bought this pair of Nike React Elements since walking is a primary source of transportation in the city of London, and I intelligently brought just three pairs of Vans.. not the most comfortable shoes. However it was an excuse to buy a pair of shoes and I was happy to find this pair of Reacts at a local London sneaker shop called Offspring. The store had many options to choose from, from a variety of different brands however seeing various color ways of the React in the window of Offspring is what drew me in in the first place.


The color way I selected was the White, Pale Vanilla and Black pair as they will match any outfit I want to put together while I am abroad, however I was definitely enticed by some of the more flamboyant colors on other pairs of Reacts they had in store.


The shoes themselves are extremely light, composed of an entirely mesh upper which allows for excellent breathability and rely on an entirely rubber sole that provides a reasonable amount of support and cushion. Immediately after purchasing these I walked around London for several hours and my feet, along with practically every other part of my legs, were immensely grateful that I was no longer walking miles in Vans.


I am a large fan of how progressive the shoe looks to the eye, especially when they are on feet. They are eye-catching but do not dominate an outfit, and that is something I appreciate especially since I prioritize my clothes and accessorize with my sneakers.


As subtle as these shoes are there are a good amount of smaller details to appreciate. Immediately the first thing that caught my eye was the logo for the Nike React Silhouette. I really enjoy that the logo combines the "a" and the "c" to create an infinity emblem to correlate alongside the progressive and "futuristic" thematic elements of the shoe.



Additionally, I love the heel tab, no particular reason, I just think it's dope.

Lastly, the best detail of the shoe is the Pinwheel Nike logo featured on the inner side of the tongue. The logo is simply a pinwheel composed of several Nike swooshes that was popular in the 80's and went on a several decade hiatus but has recently seen a resurgence on select products.

These shoes are remarkably comfortable, stylish and practical. I would recommend to anybody looking to buy a comfortable pair of shoes to be active in.

22 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page